Tags

, , , , , , , ,

hands-on

This question was always the deal breaker in almost every interview I conducted, from casual workers to management –

Are you a hands-on person? And if so, give me an example of when you ‘got your hands dirty’?

One of the most important facets of being considered a successful Senior Manager was the relentless willingness to Get Your Hands Dirty!

I have learned that this concept applies to literally every aspect of our lives, from the simple things like spring cleaning the house, gardening and washing the dishes, to the more meaningful matters like ministering to people on the streets; entering places where no-one else wants to go to reach those no ones knows about, or spending your leisure time serving others in ways that seem trivial and unrecognised by society. Every attempt at love pleases God!

Ok, perhaps I am going a little off base now, but bear with me.

I was never the gardening type, if anything, I killed every single plant I ever had!!Β πŸ˜‰Β In the past year however, I asked the Lord to bless me with a ”green thumb’‘ so that I could resurrect the patch of garden coinciding with our wooden deck and hopefully grow a few gorgeous plants in some pots to give the verandah a more homely feel.

Needless to say, I have done it! Not quite mastered it but I am getting there. The only thing that I find unconventional is the fact that weeds pop up within days, super strong, fully grown weeds! And the beautiful plants, the ones I desire to see flourish, take their sweet time to develop!!!

I have plucked out countless weeds now, but amidst all this ”maintenance” I have also experienced the reward of some rather lovely plants and a much better garden!

Back to ‘getting your hands dirty’, as with my garden, all things in life require perseverance, some more than others, like weeds grow super fast; so do the tiny compromises we make.

The only way to move on and move up is to clear out! Get your hands dirty!

Repenting by saying we are sorry is one thing, repenting by changing our actions is quite another. Good fruit takes time to grow, so give yourself time, but it is crucial that you do the tedious effort of plucking out those weeds so that they do not hinder your spiritual growth!

Let us take courage in this:

Romans 5:3-5 KJV – Not only so, but we[a] also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

