Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Is the way to a man's heart really through his stomach?? ;-)

Is the way to a man’s heart really through his stomach?? 😉

 

While pondering on what to write for today’s article, I found myself being romanced by the ‘idea’ of an autumn in New York. Yellow, red and burnt orange leaves cascading off of the branches of gigantic trees. Cool weather, dusty blue skies, old wooden benches running down the aisle of the parks walk ways … How romantic!

This whole ”fantasy” reminded me of occasions where I have experienced this sense of knowing His presence and His need for us to come closer to Him. Its romance at its peak, a dance with the creator and lover of our souls! One of my fondest memories was when my husband would write long pieces in his journal to the Lord and then on the contrary there were days he would write none.

I paged through the book my husband handed me, it was his personal journal. He wanted to know whether I thought it had any impact. That afternoon, while he was at work, I sobbed as I read the ”heart-to-heart’s” he had with the Lord. I never knew my husband could speak words such as these, never mind write them! I prayed as I fell on my face, loving how God had blessed me with a man so fierce.

A few weeks later, I had a vision of Jesus, sitting on the side of a wall in a park. He appeared to be dressed in what looked like the purest of white cotton trousers and a flawless matching shirt. I saw his feet, but not his face. He was twirling a twig between the fingers of his hands. He seemed almost wrestles … expectant.

I asked the Lord: ”What is wrong? Why have you shown yourself to me this way?”, He replied: ”Tell him I am waiting, waiting anxiously for the next time he writes to me.”

In awe, I embraced the Lord, tears streaming down my face. Oh how glorious is our King. So real – so passionate. It touched me in such a way that I would never be the same again. These letters meant so much to Jesus that He waited, with uncontrollable desire; He revealed His genuine heart to us.

My husband looked at me intently after I had shared this important message with him. His heart raced as he described how he felt knowing that God Almighty awaited this precious communication between the two of them.

John 15:15 – ”No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.”

Jon asked me some time later if I had ever read these writings again as I was welcome to, but respectfully had not. They were so sacred and powerful, I admired this intimacy in such a way that I did not want to be a part of it, if that makes sense? I would continue having my own priceless valuable times with the Lord over coffee as I have done through-out the years.

”Quiet times” became a treasure I would value for the rest of my lifetime here on earth!

Know today, that the Lords heart is so sincere, so pure, so powerful. He waits, ever so eagerly for the next time you will meet with Him. He truly is a God of intimacy, a God of relationship, a God of love. To serve the only God is privilege and a pleasure!

A few words from Jon, my precious husband:

”Men keep things inside, writing is my way out. I find my strength in it, I know I am safe. It is a manly thing. When I write things just pop up and I am able to speak. Whereas in general I would normally not voice those things, now I do.

Men are emotional beings as well, just in a more manly way. Men need to step out and be brave, just write. It’s not about how much you write, it’s about what you write. Every-time I write, and complete my writing to Him; it is as if I have accomplished something. I started and I finished. It has taught me about myself.

Imagine being deeply in-love with someone and telling them you will be there in a few minutes and then never arriving. That is how it feels when I do not write to Him. He is my Father, and I love Him. Writing my prayers have brought forth a lot of fruit, He always writes back. I see the evidence of my prayers throughout the day.

The real words of man are in his heart. ”

Joshua 1:9 – “Have I not commanded you? Be strong, vigorous, and very courageous. Be not afraid, neither be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you everywhere you go.”

