Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Zechariah 2:8 - ''For thus said the LORD of hosts, after his glory sent me to the nations who plundered you, for he who touches you touches the apple of his eye...''

Zechariah 2:8 (NIV) – ”For thus said the LORD of hosts, after his glory sent me to the nations who plundered you, for he who touches you touches the apple of his eye…”

A memory I’d like to share with you:

”Ah man, the weekend ended abruptly, like a sudden surprise, just not one I hoped for 😉 Yep, it was Monday! The dishes were piled up on the sink, the lounge looked a little groggy, warm winter blankets, scatter cushions bundled in the corners of the couches and my bright sunny flowers had seen their final breath as they lay flopped over the vintage bottle I’d placed them in.

It was time, time to get my home into its usual peaceful state but something did not feel quite right. I sat quietly and listened. Glorious silence … but then the silence was too silent! I wondered what was missing!

I was reminded of a great preacher that compared the Holy Spirit to a white dove. He said that it was so very gentle, so still and so sensitive to even the slightest sound that anything, even slightly threatening, just the simple wave of a hand, could frighten it away! He emphasized that the Holy Spirit is that HOLY! Like a dove … To remain in Him, we need to be holy like Him.

That was it!!! The Holy Spirit!!!!!

I was so busy and wound up in the events of the past week that I’d lost touch. Ok, to be frank, I’d lost a little more than that including my patience and my temper at least twice 😉 but all jokes aside, I realized, I gave the dove no invitation, no quiet time, no intimacy, no space … I had practically shooed Him away with the consumption of self!!!

I gently, kindly, lovingly beckoned Him near… I said I was sorry, I asked Him to please return. I could not be without oil, I was running on empty without even noticing the ”warning signs”.

Suffice to say – it was the most potent personal encounter I’d had in a while! It was as if everything just fell into place (even though so many other things around me were falling apart) I sat down on the greenish floral fabric bench, allowing a content sigh to leave my breath and said:

 ”Lord, I am all Yours, all Yours.”

While making coffee a little later in the afternoon, the Lord spoke only these words to me:

”The apple of my eye! You are the apple of my eye!”

Can you just imagine how special I felt in this moment!? Lord You truly are magnificent!!

