Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

 Matthew 6:25 - "Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?''

Matthew 6:25 NIV – “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?”

 

A man I admire, who is courageous in the Lord, wrestled publicly with the fact that he did not have enough to give. He unhappily retired his frustration with: ”Really, is this a testimony? Not being able to give to those in need. I did not have a single cent to aid in the desperate circumstance of someone who needed help this week!”

Something in me jolted, part of it was sorrow, and the other was disbelief!

His heart was pure with a strong desire to help those in dire need. His belief that God simply will provide and should provide for such a time as this was something I could not argue. My heart was torn at the hardship he was enduring. Desperately I shouted in my mind – ”There must be more than this?” Jesus did not have a pillow, never mind a single cent to give. I wonder, did he have any money at all?

I found myself sitting with the same torment but to no avail. I see people who are in need of financial aid and I have nothing to offer them. Pausing in thought – Deep inside my spirit something was tugging at me …

Another day – Another Dollar’’ – A kingdom principle? I am not so sure. Yes, we should work hard with our hands and provide for ourselves so as to not be a burden, even the disciples caught fish for a ”living” but what if you do not have a dollar a day to give away?

The words rhyming in song repeatedly through my conscience are –

”Away in a manger, no crib for a bed, the little Lord Jesus lay down His sweet head…”

A sense of freedom dawned upon me; a statement I dare to submit aloud – I do not have to give as the world gives as I am not of the world? Could this be true? Can I be free of the guilt wringing inside of me, the feeling of nausea that often creeps up due to my lack of ”funds” to help those in need? Of-course money makes a difference, a huge difference, but do we have something more to offer? Something more than finance which perishes within seconds… YES!!!!!!

Imagine a single day without the Lords peace, without His presence, the madness of this age would have me utterly dismayed and lifeless. As Christians, we perhaps take this serenity for granted, a way of life, Jesus makes things easier to ”cope with” but is that all it is?

Is it not a peace that by far outweighs anything that this world has to offer?!

A calmness of spirit and mind that brings fulfillment knowing that there is indeed more than this, so much more! A peace so valuable that it grants us ever lasting life!! A harmony deep within which allows us to enter His courts without hesitancy. The powerful presence of God Almighty is available to us 24/7… This is profoundly MORE than anything money can buy!

What we have to offer saves lives, it saves souls, it saves mere mortals from the dungeons of darkness which seek to lay hold of their very breath! Granted, perhaps some will think us foolish. After all what is life without money? Without riches? Without daily necessities? Without the things which we ”need”?

LIFE IS MORE THAN THIS! More than the things of the world – More than the meeting of basic needs – More than food or clothes – More than a roof over our heads and a car to transport us. Yes there is more. Greater riches await those who have put their hope in the KING OF PEACE – Jesus Christ of Nazareth.

Psalm 37:25 NIV – ”Once I was young, and now I am old. Yet I have never seen the godly abandoned or their children begging for bread.”

Do not let your heart be burdened, give as the Lord gives and ALLOW Him to do the rest. He will not leave us desolate and it is not His gracious will to have people forsaken and left hungry. His will will prevail and He will provide because it is in His very nature to do so. Manna fell from the heavens!

So let it fall Lord … but more so …  open the hearts of those who do NOT have the PEACE of Jesus Christ, so that they may enter into Your courts with thanks giving in their hearts! Give us more courage as Your people who are fully equipped with bibles so that we may offer this BREAD OF LIFE to those who are willing to accept it. Lord not only this, but bless us so that we can provide material things as well, just because You are merciful and You know that we need these things as well.

John 14:27 KJV – ‘‘Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

This preacher, even though he had no money, just like Jesus, he continually feeds the sheep with far more nourishing food than any money could buy that’s for sure! I take comfort in this! May blessing upon blessing be given unto this man who is a source of joy and ”food” to me and the whole congregation of his flock. Jesus truly is Lord above all!

