Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

''Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.'' - Chinese Proverb

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” – Chinese Proverb

 

I felt the Holy Spirit unction me to leave the doctor’s office and step outside. Jon looked at me and smiled, slight bewilderment in his eyes, the doctor paused a moment and then continued to examine him. The last words I heard her compassionately sharing with concern were something along the lines of:

”We’ll have to get you to the hospital to test you for cancer asap!” I hit a blank and felt guilty for leaving Jon alone, but the Spirit of God kept me grounded. I sat down on one of the green-blue chairs and leaned my head against the fickle white carbon fiber wall with a sigh.

To my amusement I noticed the sweet African lady I smiled at earlier, she was still seated awaiting her consultation I assumed. I tried talking to her but she did not understand much English, or so she gestured, and could not really speak it. For some reason I felt the need to sit closer to her, so I shifted up to the seat right next to hers. She nervously forced what looked like a smirk.

Awkwardly I tried to find out why she was there and I asked if I could pray for her. She shook her head, not knowing exactly what I was trying to tell her. I figured,

”Oh well, I’ll pray anyway – the Holy Spirit speaks her language!”

I placed my arm around her shoulder and she knowingly directed my hand toward her leg, it was clearly notable that her knee was abnormally swollen. I prayed in tongues and I was not sure what the Lord wanted yet … just healing or her precious heart?

I still felt nothing in particular and began to sing songs over her. My hands felt warm and excitement brewed in us both, her face lightened up enthusiastically with so much trust. Then I had a vision of her with children, lots of them and I asked if she had kids by imitating pregnancy 🙂 Imagine! She giggled and stuck out 6 fingers proudly! She has 6 kids!!! I saw her faith grow by the second! Then the Holy Spirit told me to tell her to pray after me to accept Jesus as Lord and the Holy Spirit as her source!

 ”You have got to be kidding me!! How is she going to understand a word I am saying!??” I asked. But the stirring of the Spirit of God kept building so I bravely requested she repeat after me, hoping she would understand what I was instructing her!

She struggled to formulate the words with English pronunciation but somehow managed to reiterate every word. Within seconds she clapped her hands softly in thanks and began crying! Then she started laughing! I blessed her and we praised, language barrier and all as sisters in the Kingdom of the Most High! 

I hugged her tight just as Jon stepped out of the doc’s room. He laughed, knowing the Lord had done something beautiful. He touched her shoulder, smiling at her, then he firmly grasped my hand as we left to go to the hospital. I looked back at her, if only she knew, she had changed my life in that moment. I was sore with sadness that my precious, most beloved husband may have a life-threatening disease, and there she was, God-given Elena (that’s her name). Reminding me that Jesus is the truth, the LIFE, and the way!

My heart swells with awe at the power of our God! NOTHING CAN STOP A MOVE OF GOD!! Absolutely NOTHING!!! No language, no illness, no evil! OUR GOD IS SUPREME!!

John 4:34 NKJV – Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to finish His work.”

What I got to live out this week was the scripture above, if I had moped around in dire agony and rejected the Lord because of my sorrow over Jon above Gods will, Elena could have asked me one day:

Why did you just leave me to die?? You knew the truth!

Be encouraged, the Lord is not done with us yet!! We are called to this purpose! There is NO BARRIER to big for our God and no sorrow unquenchable with His LOVE!

