Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The body of Christ should be the most merciful family we have!

The body of Christ should be the most merciful family we have!

10 to 1, they know they’ve made a mistake! We do not need to remind them, we need to help them get back up again! It is far easier to pass judgment than to extend your hand in MERCY. I would define it as ”literally looking past the sin into the other person’s defeated and weary heart!”

I was involved in an interesting conversation, similar to a court-case debate of sorts. Or so I would imagine it, Jesus’s view versus the devils … My friend and I put forward all arguments and the Lord led us to a conclusion that hit us ”smack-dab-in-the-face!”

After naively ridiculing and deeply assessing the sin of one man (how careless!) doubting his ”purity of heart”, out of sincere concern for a women I cherish deeply, the Lord whispered His truth into my spirit. Yes, this man was unfaithful before, yes, he was a professing Christian, yes, he was a husband and a dad … but HE IS ALSO A SON OF THE MOST HIGH GOD! Yes, he made awful choices before, but the questions lingering in our minds were – Could he be trusted and did he really have a new heart? My friend said that she had not seen the fruit which lead us into an even deeper analysis of ”WHAT WE THINK” fruit should look like!

This was when the Lord began to unfold His view of this precious man who has been given a second chance. A man who lost a lot and on whom the Lord bestowed favor because of MERCY! A man who needed us to bless him, not to curse him!! I began remembering things that the person in-love with him said, the way she spoke so devotedly of his faith and prayer life, his heart and how he was such a sterling example to her … That was fruit, really good fruit, wasn’t it? Fruit that someone who knows him see’s, fruit that she could even eat from, fruit that built her up … I did not know him, neither did my friend, we could not write him off because he made mistakes, even though they were great in our eyes, was our sin not great in our Father’s eyes to? My heart broke in that moment and I realized…

”Who am I, who am I? Someone who also as a Christian became an abomination, a sinner, even after being saved! Who am I to be so harsh, so concerned as-if I can make the future better for this person??? Hallo!! Was I nuts!!! YES!!” It is neither my business nor anyone else’s. These are His BELOVED! Simply just let God be God – this is His business!

So in-turn, I pose this question – Who is this God? This wonderful King who embodies a MERCY so great that is it beyond us! A MERCY so beautiful, so pure and so just! A MERCY that is honest and loving enough to truly FORGIVE when we repent! His name is Jesus Christ of Nazareth who died and rose again, who is now seated at the right hand of God! THE MERCIFUL ONE!

James 2:13 NIV- ”There will be no mercy for those who have not shown mercy to others. But if you have been merciful, God will be merciful when he judges you.”

I see now, what God see’s. Challenged by our harsh criticism we repented. We sought Him who is Justice Himself! Kinda ironic, here we are, jabbering mindlessly of things we do not know, not even realizing the fact that we needed MERCY, His mercy. You cannot extend mercy if you have not received it yourself so brace yourself!

The Lord has mercy big enough to forgive us and wash our sins away, MERCY so bound in true LOVE that we can find freedom in Him! The extension of this mercy does not mean the consequences of our sin will disappear, it means that we have a hope – a promise of eternal life spent in the presence of God Almighty!

To receive Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior is the greatest mercy you will ever know!

Ephesians 2:3-5 NIV – ”…Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath. But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions–it is by grace you have been saved.”

