Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yes, I watched the movie AGAIN! 😉

“When I shop, the world gets better, and the world is better, but then it’s not, and I need to do it again.
(Confessions of a Shopaholic-the movie)” – Sophie Kinsella

Matthew 6:20 - ''Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal.''

Matthew 6:20 – ”Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal.”

It got me thinking, with a high-fashion background and a closet full of shoes … I wondered, ”Does-The-Devil-Wear -Prada?” 😉

The synonym is quite frankly – brilliant! The materialism of the world is rather ”sticky” … like marinated chicken wings! They look divine, they smell incredible, they taste wonderful … but it is a ”sticky affair”. Your fingers get gooey! The worst part is that it leaves you wanting more!

Kinda like the fashion industry!

Blood thirsty suckers – all of us! What the eye see’s the eye in fact does want! Obviously this is applicable in almost every aspect of life, but fashion is the one right up my ally – perhaps not just ”fashion” but SHOPPING! Dare I say it again!?

SHHHhhhhooopPPPPppinggg!!

 

What is my point?

Like the moral of the movie – we all have CHOICE.

What is best for one person is not necessarily best for the other person … but it is guaranteed one choice will be better than the other! The Lord ripped the world right out-ta me when He said that He had changed my fate! He showed me a better way to live. A way of giving more and receiving what seemed to be ”less”. I now have MORE than I have ever had before!

I learned that time and relationships are 2 of the most valuable, irreplaceable gems I have been blessed with.

In the end, I do not think it is the type of industry you work in (unless it is biblically immoral), it is not about working at all as working is our lot in life and brings great fulfillment if we embrace it for the Lord’s glory and not our own.

I think it is about your heart.

This scripture rings so true:

Matthew 6:21 – ”For where your treasure lies, there your heart will be also.”

I found a greater treasure, more than any person; thing or career could ever give me –

Psalm 119:11 – ”I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”

