Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Psalm 18:2 - ''The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.''

Psalm 18:2 – ”The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”

He said: ”But this is what I always wanted for you.”

Many a night through-out my life, I would struggle with fear. Fear of what lurks in the darkness, fear of what might be around the corner, fear of what might be waiting for me if I got out of bed to fetch a glass of water … seriously!

I was afraid – all the time. It was ridiculous!

Last night, something funny happened. I won’t get into the specifics, but a gloomy fear hung in the air. This time, I figured, let’s pray, sing and read the bible out-loud, and see what happens. I had done this when I was afraid before, but the fear would still remain – inwardly. I would sleep-with one eye open!

The Lord gave my husband and I this gorgeous scripture –

Psalm 16:7-8

”I bless the Lord who gives me counsel;

in the night also my heart instructs me.

I have set the Lord always before me;

because He is at my right hand,

I shall not be shaken.”

This time it was different, not because I had some-one to pray with but because I believed God. I believed what He said to us in Psalm 16. I had this sense of KNOWING …  we were so very safe 🙂

I heard something wonderful in a movie the other night.

Esther in the movie said what she loved most about the story of David in the bible, was not that he fought well, but that he believed well! – ”One Night with with the King”, Tommy Tenne with Mark Andrew Olsen.

Needless to say, after a short while of time well spent with our King before bed, the nonsense outside continued, but not in our house! There was a peace that no demonic force could EVER match. I switched off the lights – all of them – snuggled up in my white duvet, comfortably lay my head onto my pillow and I felt content.

Everything in me was quiet, no wondering, no questions, no war … nothing. Just peace.

Then He said: ”But this is what I always wanted for you.”

I know now that what God always wanted for me was peace, peace of mind, a peace that reigns, a peace unfathomable… I finally found it!!!!

A peace like his love.

All He wanted was for me to really really believe IN HIM and KNOW that HE IS. He is God. The great I AM. When He says that no harm will befall you, He means it.

It’s not whether or not it’s the truth, its whether or not you believe!

I heard that the words ”Do not fear” appear in the bible 365 times! That is like 1 ”DO NOT FEAR” for everyday of the year! Pretty cool huh!

