Tags

, , , , , , ,

''STORM'' - Photo taken by Leandri Joubert

”STORM” – Photo taken by Leandri Joubert

In 2009 a storm hit, it hit so hard that it took my breath away.

The tension in my spirit and the sorrow in my heart engulfed me the week before.  Knowledge from God revealed in a dream and confirmed in His word, brought forth this sense of knowing deep within, that the time had regretfully arrived.

Fear, anxiety, and sadness beyond measure – you name it – I felt it! I could hear the roar of death approaching … A sick feeling brewing in my soul, the storm escalated. I wept and I pleaded for mercy. A little more time, a few more years, this lingering request was my motto. This could just not be happening! How could it be true, there was nothing wrong with her … nothing of which we were aware?

Those past few days I felt quite sick, I had flu. To top it off I had a very busy week at work and felt wrestles. Even though we lived in the same town, I suffered from what I thought was just a bit of melancholy!

I was ”home-sick” to be quite frank. Then I made a phone call. I did not know that it would be my last one. Her voice was so calm, so kind, longing. We did not know the words of love we departed with would be our final goodbye.

I told her how much I loved her and that even though I was of mature age, I still needed my mom when I was sick 🙂 She laughed in bliss, knowing how much I longed for her too. She expressed her undying love for me. We both cried as if … as if … we knew, we knew – without knowing…

You see, we were always very close. She was my best friend for all of my years. Familiar fragrances still bring about the most cherished of memories. The smell of her freshly washed hair and her feminine perfume – Oh what I would give to experience those sweet moments, just one more time. I miss her distinct, enchanting smile and those lovely enduring blue eyes of hers. She embodied a grace that was prominent through her joys and her hardships.  Few people really experienced her true beauty, that precious vulnerable love she embedded deep within. She dished it out to those whom she loved so dearly and felt safe with, I am grateful to have been one of them!

I remember mom describing when she realized that God was God, all-powerful and mighty beyond comprehension.

Merinda Munger said: ”If you want to see His glory, how mighty, strong and uncontainable He truly is – Go and lie right underneath a brewing storm.”

She described how it left her powerless, how she was completely fascinated by this creation. She delightfully told me that was one of her favorite experiences with the Lord. She appreciated the ”untamed nature” of God, His true strength and sovereignty.

Up until this day I appreciate storms, no one has understood why I love rainy weather or crazy storms … this is why. I see Gods greatness, I see His power, I get to experience His mercy, He rains on the good and the bad, and I remember her.

On the 17th of March 2009 my mother departed into the arms of God. My dad held her as she took her last breath. A God of true compassion, she was not alone. Merinda was a woman of valor!

Psalm 107:29 – ”He made the storm be still, and the waves of the sea were hushed.”

If there is one thing she taught me that always carries me through it is that, no matter how hectic things get or how tough ones present difficulties are … There is someone far bigger and more magnificent than what you are going through – Jesus Christ!

”Remember, behind every storm lies a sunset.” 

My mom received her sunset … I am making peace with that now.

1 Thessalonians 4:16-18 – ”For the Lord himself will descend from heaven with a cry of command, with the voice of an archangel, and with the sound of the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we will always be with the Lord. Therefore encourage one another with these words.”

