Tags

, , , , ,

''A horse loves freedom, and the wearies old work horse will roll on the ground or break into a lumbering gallop when he is turned loose into the open''. - Gerald Raferty

”A horse loves freedom, and the weariest old work horse will roll on the ground or break into a lumbering gallop when he is turned loose into the open’ – Gerald Raferty

 

I have never experienced unspoiled beauty like that of wild horses! There is just something of God in these magnificent creatures. I don’t know if it is their strength, their stature or their extravagant appearance.

One late Saturday afternoon the Lord prompted my friend and I to drive along a certain road and marvel at His glory. The mountains, the sky, the sun … everything on that particular day was astonishingly picture-perfect!

Then the Lord said: ”All animals will be tamed by your hand.” Of-course this made no sense to me at all, until a couple of wild horses crossed the road in-front of us. I was memorized by their presence and totally dumbfounded at God’s creation. I had never witnessed nature in this way before – so close – untainted by humans. This was something I had not had the chance to appreciate in a very long time.

I got out of the car and without giving it a second thought, I called to one of the horses – a large, fine-looking, dark brown stallion. He was just gorgeous. He responded and came galloping! ”How did he even know I was talking to him???’

I could have died in that moment! I did not expect a wild horse to respond to any gesture I had made?! My friend nervously jumped back in the car but I could not move! I froze, as he touched me! I stopped breathing, praying in my mind that this would not be the day that I lose one of my hands! He looked at me for few seconds, as if deep into my soul, then he turned and casually strolled off to join the others.

A little while later a man drove by, sternly requesting that we not develop any type of relationship with the wild horses as it placed them in harms-way as they would become use to humans and approach moving traffic. Quickly snapping out of my haze, I nodded in agreement and hopped back into the car sheepishly. Unbroken silence filled our vehicle. I was not sure whether to be angry or to heed this perfectly sound advice. I knew he was right but that special moment was worth so much to me.

”A lovely horse is always an experience… It is an emotional experience of the kind that is spoiled by words.”  – Beryl Markham

My heart ached leaving the freedom of nature behind as we drove back into the city. My wise friend said that she was impressed at how much the gentlemen loved Gods creation, he was protecting it, after-all that is what man should do. We blessed him in prayer and learned a valuable lesson which we applied after one more visit with these brilliant animals… but I will share that story some other time!

Psalm 150:6 – ”Let everything that has breath praise the Lord!”

A horse and A man – I learned a lesson from both!

Job 12:7-10 – ”But ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds of the air, and they will tell you; or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish of the sea inform you. Which of all these does not know that the hand of the LORD has done this? In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all man.”

