Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

In June last year, I went on an adventure … It was my very first trip overseas. I had waited 19 years for the Lord to open this specific door for me! Yes, 19 years!

Everyone who knows me, knows that this voyage was all I dreamed of – year in and year out!

I had such high expectations! My dad was highly strung, thinking it a little short of insanity that my first trip out of the country was to China, the fact that I went alone made everyone a little tense to say the least. Excitement was brewing and my dad said: ”I am so happy for you and proud that you are doing something for Gerry! Just please come back!

This sealed the deal … and off I went. What a long long long flight!

 

Shanghai - the place that felt  like home!

Shanghai – the place that felt like home!

Finally after all that sitting, I landed in the extraordinary city of Shanghai! It was gloriously beautiful, more than I imagined! The streets were busy, a genre between the historic and modern visage of a diverse society. Concoctions of contemporary and old-fashioned structures embodying the captivating streets of Shanghai completely won over my heart. This metropolitan habitation was influenced by countries all over the world. I found a bit of ”home” here.

 

 

The city of trees!

The city of trees

After exploring my new-found favorite destination, we went on to explore the city of trees – Xian! Unpretentious in spirit, this place made me home-sick. Trees surrounding the entire domain, protecting it from the destructive desert dust storms, created an ambiance I found most attractive. The ‘’family’’ atmosphere here was enchanting, we watched people dancing in the streets, singing songs, overall a delightful sight.  Full of character, yet veiled in oppression – this was a place I will always hold dearly in my heart.

 

 

The Great Wall of China - Beijing

The Great Wall of China – Beijing

Now – this would be the final journey where one of my paramount longings came in to fulfillment! Arriving in Beijing, my heart pounding out of my chest, the day was nearing. A few excursions in the hustle and bustle of this extreme city had us all exhausted. On the last day, imagine! The very last day, we headed off to see one of the most renowned wonders of the world – The Great Wall of China! It had been my dream since I was about 9 years old to walk on this wall! I had prayed on many occasions for this day to arrive! It was even more than I thought it would be. Every bit as huge as I dreamed, every bit as challenging, those steps were extremely steep to say the least. It was jaw-dropping!

 

Then I found this on one of the bricks – oh boy, did I shed a tear or 5!! It was such confirmation that I had arrived exactly where I needed to be, on time, at the right time …

Psalm 37:4 - ''Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.''

Psalm 37:4 – ”Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

There are so many things we all hope for, some more extravagant than what I hoped for, some less, but what I delight in most is that all of our desires are important to the Lord. No matter how necessary or unnecessary they are, like my husband always reminds me:

”If it is important to you, then it is important to Him.”

Psalm 62:5 – ”My soul, wait you only on God; For my expectation is from Him.”

How long are you willing to wait for your dream? He wants you to call upon Him, not just for what you want, but because you love Him and He loves you. He also wants to be involved in your dreamsnot just to provide them but to carry you through them in extraordinary ways. The most significant memories of my trip were the ones where He showed me His glory. I have many testimonies about this excursion.

My favorite of all these memories was the message that awaited me on the bricks of the Great Wall of China!

I WOULD WAIT AGAIN …

Romans 8:25 – ”But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.”

