Tags

, , , , ,

Numbers 11:1 - ''Now when the people complained, it displeased the Lord, for He heard it and His anger was aroused.''

Numbers 11:1 – ”Now when the people complained, it displeased the Lord, for He heard it and His anger was aroused.”

I was reading through the first few chapters in the book of Numbers today and again, Moses – oh precious Moses, stood out like a real trouper!

Moses’ sister and brother complained about him and God heard it. Did you know God actually caused Miriam to become leprous for a week, separating her from all the people because of what she had said about Moses in her pride? To my dismay, I realized so many times, I too, have spoken negatively about people. Even today – I was tested and failed. I wonder, if it were not for the blood of Jesus, exactly where I would be today 😦

The Israelites made very unwise ”mistakes”, besides their rebellion – they complained!! A  LOT! Their lack of fear for God and absence of trust in His provision was frightening! But are we really any different??? We see miracle after miracle and yet we still have the self-pity and nerve to say: ”Perhaps not me, He does it for others but not me.” NO – His promises are for ALL who obey Him – if you love Him, you will obey His commands.

Listen to how the Lord reprimanded Moses’s family:

Numbers 12:7 ”But this is not true of my servant Moses; he is faithful in all my house. With him I speak face to face, clearly and not in riddles; he sees the form of the Lord. Why then were you not afraid to speak against my servant Moses?”

God defended Moses as he was humble before the Lord. He feared God!  Moses was disciplined for his sin when he lost his temper but still, he believed God and remained faithful till the end. For this he received a righteous reward!

We complain when things do not go as we want them to, we complain when we do not get what we ask for, we complain when its to hot, we complain when its to cold, we complain that ”so-and-so” did or said ”this-and-that”, we complain that the promises of God have not come to pass within ”our” chosen time-frame.

The Problem = We complain to much and PRAISE TO LITTLE! Lets rejoice for His mercy toward us is so great!

James 3:10 ”From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not to be so.”

