Tags

, , , ,

“If animals could speak, the dog would be a blundering outspoken fellow; but the cat would have the rare grace of never saying a word too much.”― Mark Twain

“If animals could speak, the dog would be a blundering outspoken fellow; but the cat would have the rare grace of never saying a word too much.”
― Mark Twain

This is where it all began: I walked into this confined dingy pet-shop and there he was – Thomas! The most magnificently handsome ball of fluff I had ever seen. He was frail and poorly nourished but oozed character and merriment!

Now I must tell you, I was never a ”cat person” until I met Tom. I was a single gal at that stage and needed some company so I figured a pet would be a great companion. Little did I know, what this ”purr-fect friend” would teach me about myself throughout the years to follow!

Soon after we were well acquainted, the tiny kitty was healthier  and we started playing! Yaaiks – he had a wild streak in him! He scratched so viciously that I was a bit ”put-off”. I realized then that I did not know where he came from or what he had been through, as young as he was. If I could be this kind to my sweet animal, could I not also extend mercy toward others even if they rejected me?

So I prayed and continually persisted in taming him. Eventually he softened-up a bit, but he’d still run and hide under the bed when ever I walked into the room.

In the evenings I would sit on the bed and fiddle with my fingertips on the wooden floor to entice him. That’s how we became friends. He loved that game – it was his favorite!  I learned with continual TLC, perseverance, prayer and patience you could win over the heart of an almost wild animal. How glorious!

We should worship God in all we do, that includes taking care of creation. There is something very extraordinary about people who love animals, both great and small. Their fierce spirit and strong character’s always shine forth when animals are neglected. All wonderful animal shelters and responsible pet-owners should be highly regarded.

Proverbs 12:10 NIV : ”A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal, but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel.”

Now getting back to Tom and I, he has made me laugh – he has made me scream – he has made me cry! I spontaneously chase him around the house sometimes, of which he saviors every moment … Coincidentally my nick-name is Gerry so it’s quite a laugh when you picture the 2 of us carrying on! And yes – Tom&Jerry is one of my favorite cartoons 😉

Whilst reminiscing on my memories with Tom, I often wondered: ”If life was this fun and interesting with a cat, imagine when a man of God wins my heart … ” but that’s a story for another time.

